Friday, April 20, 2018

Who Can Resist the Love of God Forever?


Though we are created in the image of God and to be like Him, still we are finite creatures and ever shall be. How then shall we suppose that anyone possesses an infinite ability to resist the love of God forever?

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Reconciled to God and Our True Selves


In Christ,
God has reconciled us to Himself,
and so also to our true selves,
who are created in
the image of God.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Christ Has Broken the Gates of Hell


Christ has broken the gates of Hades and set us free.
The only hell now is the one we create
within our own hearts.

Monday, April 9, 2018

There is Only the Love of God


With God there is no merit system.
No points are awarded or taken away.
There is simply no such reckoning, and never has been.
There is only the love of God surrounding us
through Christ by
the Holy Spirit.

Monday, April 2, 2018

Our Every Moment


God redeems our every moment,
transforming them by the blood of the Cross
and the power of the Resurrection,
making them all one.

Friday, March 23, 2018

Forgive Us All


In praying, “Forgive us our trespasses,” 
we are asking forgiveness not only for ourselves 
but for everyone else as well. For there is no them; 
there is only us — of whom we are all a part.

Friday, March 9, 2018

Pride Has Ten Thousand Faces


Pride has ten thousand faces,
and every one of them is false.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Evil In Our Own Heart


We are naïve about evil
until we have recognized 
the depths of it in 
our own heart.

Monday, March 5, 2018

Our True Origin


Our true origin is not in time but in eternity,
through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Sunday, March 4, 2018

Our Understanding of Eternal Things


Our understanding of eternal things
gets flattened out in our time-bound perspective,
like trying to understand a three-dimensional world
from a two-dimensional point of view.

Saturday, March 3, 2018

Life is But One Moment


Life is not a passing stream of moments.
It is but one moment.
This one.

Friday, March 2, 2018

The Gift of Repentance


It is through the gift of repentance
that God shows us the way to life.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

How We See God


Repentance doesn’t change
how God sees us but
how we see God.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

An Ongoing Process of Faith Being Formed


The fast God desires
is one that never ends,
an ongoing process of 
faith being formed by 
the love of God.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

But to Give Sight to the Blind


Jesus did not come into the world
to get mixed up with religion.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Bring the Ashes of Your Life


Bring the ashes of your life
and let them be marked with the Cross
— for there is hope.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Let Go for the Moment


Let go the what ifs of the future and the if onlys of the past. 
They keep you from the one thing that matters:  
this present moment with God ... 
the only moment there is.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Perfectly Revealed in Christ


The holiness of God is the revelation of his love,
and the justice of God is the revelation of his mercy.
All is perfectly revealed in Jesus Christ.

Friday, February 9, 2018

God, Grace and Glory


God is love.
Grace is the love of God reaching out to us.
Glory is the revelation of that love and grace 
— the revelation we have in Jesus Christ.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

The Prayer of My Breathing


Lord, let the prayer of my breathing
be as angels ascending and descending,
inhaling the breath of your Spirit
and breathing out your praise.
Amen.

Saturday, January 6, 2018

Christ's Baptism and Ours


At his baptism, Christ identified with us in our brokenness and shame, 
and turned us to God.In our baptism, we are identified with him 
in his death and resurrection.

Friday, January 5, 2018

The Incarnation is Our Atonement


The Incarnation, when God became man,
is the atonement—the at·one·ment. For in Christ, 
God has become one with all humankind.
The Cross and Resurrection
flow inevitably from that.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Christ's Incarnation and Our Life


The Incarnation means that 
Christ did not die on the cross simply instead of us 
but that he died as us. His death was our death 
so that his life is now our life.