Thursday, August 17, 2017

A Part of the Peace


Lord, keep me from being part of the strife
but make me a part of the peace. Amen.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Monday, August 14, 2017

In the Middle of Your Mess


If you are seeking Christ,
you will find Him in the
middle of your mess
and at the bottom
of your ditch.

Saturday, August 12, 2017

If Ever There Was a Time


IF EVER
there was a time
when God hated anyone,
even for a moment,
it would be His undoing,
for God IS love.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

The Last Word is Love


God always gets the last word,
and it is a good word: Love.

Friday, July 7, 2017

If You Would See


If you would see
the kingdom of God,
forgive one another.

Monday, July 3, 2017

The Confession that Jesus is Lord


The confession that Jesus is Lord
is a form of anarchy,
for it means that
Caesar is not.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

What You Must Beware


Whatever it is for which you would be rewarded,
that you must beware.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Continually in the Presence


We live continually in the presence of Divine Love.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Not Even Death Can Stop It


The Resurrection of Christ means
that the love of God is truly unconditional,
for not even death can stop it.

Friday, June 16, 2017

Monday, June 12, 2017

The Judgment of God Sets Us Free


The judgment of God does not come to condemn us
but to restore us. Not to enslave us
but to set us free.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

A More Christ-Like Theology


Funny thing.
The more I consider Christ,
the more my theology changes
in conformity to Him ...
and that seems to be
confusing for
some people.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

By Reason of His Incarnation


We are united with Christ
not by reason of our faith
but by reason of His
Incarnation.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Not a Broken Law but a Broken Relationship


Sin is not a broken law 
but a broken relationship ~ 
with God, with each other, with 
creation, even within our own
selves. Christ came to turn us 
back to God and each other, 
to restore all of creation 
and make us whole.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

God’s Fullness, Our Completeness


Discipleship is learning to live 
in the fullness of God and our 
completeness in Jesus Christ.

Friday, May 5, 2017

Learning to Live in Divine Fellowship


Discipleship
is learning to live
in the divine fellowship 
of Father, Son and 
Holy Spirit.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

In the Reality of King Jesus


Discipleship is learning to live
in the reality of King Jesus.

Friday, April 21, 2017

Summed Up in Christ


All humankind is summed up in Jesus Christ,
in whom God became one with us
~ even in all our brokenness.

Monday, April 3, 2017

The Truth About Who You Are


You are created in the image of God,
and there is nothing you can do that could ever change that.
It is the truth about who you are.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Without Limitation or Condition


The love, mercy and grace of God are with us always,
without limitation or condition.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

There is Only the Union


There is no ‘us’ and ‘them’ in Christ.
There is only the union of all things
in heaven and on earth.

God is One, God is Love

The love of God, 
wisdom of God, justice of God, 
holiness of God — these are all one.
For God is one, and God is love.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

The Repentance of Forgiveness


To forgive others requires repentance on our part.
On our own, we do not wish to forgive,
so we must turn our soul toward God,
who alone can work that
miracle in us.

Saturday, March 25, 2017

The Ability to Truly Forgive


The ability to truly forgive others is a miracle, a gift of God’s grace.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

True Repentance is a Gift


True repentance, the turning of the soul toward God, is a miracle, a gift of God’s grace.

Monday, March 13, 2017

The Lord Our Transfiguration


Lord, Your Transfiguration, my transfiguration.

“And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s Glory, 
are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing Glory.” 
(2 Corinthians 3:18)

Friday, March 10, 2017

Transformation by the Divine Fellowship


Salvation is not so much a matter of destination 
but of transformation by the divine fellowship 
of Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

The Light of God


The light of God
does not come to condemn us
but to free us from
our darkness.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Jesus Entered Our Darkness


Jesus entered into our darkness
and faced down the accuser of our souls.
He is our light.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Rest and the Simplicity of Love


Lord my rest,
teach me Your way,
the simplicity of 
Your love.

Monday, March 6, 2017

Hope for the Ashes of Your Life


Bring the ashes of your life
and let them be marked with the cross
— for there is hope.

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Christ’s Love Has No Shame


There is nothing 
that could ever put to shame 
the love Christ has for us.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

The Light of Christ in Every Human Heart


The light of Christ shines in every human being 
and the darkness cannot overcome it.

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Jesus is Not Disappointed


If we are disappointed in others on Jesus' behalf,
we probably need to spend more time with Jesus,
who is not disappointed in any of us
—He came to rescue all of us.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

A Cross-Shaped, Resurrection-Shaped Life


The Christian life 
is one shaped by the 
death and resurrection 
of Christ.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

A Word About Reading the Old Testament


If a literal reading of the Old Testament 
contradicts the revelation of God in Jesus Christ, 
then the literal reading must give way.

Monday, January 23, 2017

Which Will You Be?


Haters are gonna hate.
Lovers are gonna love.
Which will you be?

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Not Certainty But Trust


Faith is not so much about certainty 
as it is about trust.

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Ready to Forgive, Ready to Pray


If we are not ready to forgive
those who have sinned against us,
we are not ready to pray
the prayer Jesus
taught us.

Friday, January 20, 2017

Unforgiveness is a Road Block


When we are unwilling to forgive,
we are putting up a roadblock
to what God wants to do
in us and in the world.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Christians are Whacked Out People


Christians are those whacked-out people 
who believe that God has, in Christ, 
broken the power of sin and 
conquered death on our behalf, 
and that this changes everything.